top of page

I'm on a m***f**g boat! Guadeloupe here we come

Here, as demanded by my Footprint workmates, is the most appropriate link for this announcement:

Yes, despite my last pessimistic post, I very quickly found a boat willing to take me to Guadeloupe. Just a hop, skip and a jump from the US, no doubt ;-)

The boat i'm on is Igavik and you can track our progress at vesselfinder.com

Igavik doesn't bear much relation to the boat in the video, but is 10.2m long, a monohull/twinkeel for those of you who know about that sort of thing.

We are a very international crew - the captain, Guy, is French and lived in Sweden for 35 years. The other crew are Robin, German and experienced, and Dani, Catalan with even less experience than me, which is saying something.

So, today we ordered very large amounts of food and tomorrow will be spent doing laundry, finding space for all of us, all the food, all the water and then doing loads of safety checks and maintenance before heading off at 1200 GMT on Wednesday, direct to Guadeloupe.

So, looks like i'll definitely end up stateside, just don't know when! Any offers of accommodation in Florida or the Carolinas most welcome - leave a reply in the comments or message me and I'll reply once I reach the other side, some time between 21st Feb and early March. Apparently they don't supply wifi on the Atlantic yet ;-)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page